Officers and Directors


The Executive Board of the Atlanta Chapter includes the President, President-Elect, and Vice-Presidents of Administration, Communications, Education/Events, Finance/Treasurer, Funds Development, Membership, and University Relations, as well as the Parlimentarian and Recording Secretary. Committee activities focus on the Directory, Endowment Fund, Historian, Internal Communications, Member Relations, Newsletter, Nominating, Public Relations, Retreat, Scholar Awards Luncheon, Scholars, Scholar Alumni, Speakers, Special Events and Website.


National Board Members: Sally McDaniel, Sara Jean Burke and Nancy Chambers

Past Presidents: Pat Leake, Gracia Conn, Debbie Liss, Janie Wilson, Sally Hinkle




BOARD OF DIRECTORS - July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020

Executive Committee

President Susan McGonigle President Elect Leslie Petter
VP Administration Missy McClatchey VP Finance/Treasurer   Janis Henry
VP Communications Lisa Bankoff VP Funds Development Caroline Hardin
VP Membership Deede Stephenson VP Education/Events Susy Wasserman
VP University Relations Carolynn Cooper and Caroline Moise Recording Secretary Margaret Turk

Committee Chairs

ARCS Scholars Chair Michelle Wells Website Chair Cathy Wahlen
Assistant Treasurer Mary Justice ARCS Scholar Alumni Chair Mary Jo Peed
2018 Scholar Awards Luncheon Chair Erin Dasher Scholar Awards Luncheon Chair-Elect Farideh Azadi
Retreat Chair Elaine Davis Endowment Fund Chair Pat Leake
Directory Chair Robin King Public Relations Chair Ellen Adair Wyche
Newsletter Editors Becky Riley Newsletter Publisher Karen Doolittle
Special Events Chair Mary Hataway Special Events Chair-Elect Mary Watson
Internal Communications Peg Cooley Speakers Chair Alicia McCabe

Appointed by the President

Assistant to the President  Jane Dolinger Nominating Chair Louise Yeoman
Parlimentarian Jeanne Berry    

Past Presidents

Mary O’Connor* 1992-1994 Patsy Drummond 1994-1995
Trudy Huger 1995-1996 Frannie Graves 1996-1997
Pat Leake 1997-1998 Betsy Hansen 1998-1999
Deborah Liss 1999-2000 Sally Hinkle 2000-2002
Janie Wilson 2002-2004 Teed M. Poe 2004-2006
Jan K. Bennett 2006-2008 Sherry Lundeen 2008-2010
Kay Weiss 2010-2012 Gracia Conn 2012-2014
Jane Dolinger 2014-2016 Sara Jean Burke 2016-2018
    *Atlanta Founder  

ARCS Foundation Atlanta Members Serving on ARCS Foundation National Board - July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020  

Sherry Lundeen President Audi Purple Immediately Past President
Nancy Chambers VP Operations Sally McDaniel Endowment Fund Committee
Janie Wilson Council of Advisors Jane Dolinger Council of Advisors
Susan McGonigle Atlanta Chapter President Sara Jean Burke Parlimentarian


Thanks from Alum Tim Sampson, Postdoctoral Scholar at Caltech

I am immensely grateful to the ARCS Foundation and Turner Enterprises for making my award possible. I am honored to have been part of the talented and promising group of young researchers from the Atlanta-area!

Thanks from Scholar Laura Redmond

"I want to thank you again for supporting my career development, and I look forward to encouraging the development of future scientists as an ARCS Scholar Alum."

Thanks from Scholar Kevin Yehl

"I was very fortunate to be selected as one of this year's ARCS scholars... I plan to pursue an academic career in chemistry... Your support will allow me to continue my biomedical research in developing novel strateigies to treat drug resistant cancers and cardiovascular diseases... Again, thank you so much for your support of the sciences and post graduate education, both of which are very important in keeping America competitive..."